What is lactose-free vs. dairy-free?
If you’re overwhelmed by all the options in the milk aisle, you’re in good company. We’ll help you sort out what the terms mean and how to decide what to drink.
The main difference is that lactose-free products are made from real dairy, while dairy-free products contain no dairy at all. Dairy-free products are made from plants, such as nuts or grains. Neither lactose-free products nor dairy-free products contain lactose.
For example: Lactose-free products include LACTAID® milk and LACTAID® ice cream.